Haane Massarotti – Class of 1998

IMG_2799-001
This month we catch up with Haane Massarotti as she shares her passion for helping others and how St. John’s helped prepare her for Stanford and beyond. 

What did you do in the year following HS Graduation?

Attended Stanford University and studied Human Biology.

Can you tell us about the career path you chose after college?

After 3 years of doing clinical research work, I attended the University of Hawaii John A Burns School of Medicine. I completed my residency in General Surgery at the Lehigh Valley Health Network in Pennsylvania, and am finishing up my fellowship training in Colon and Rectal Surgery at the Cleveland Clinic in Florida. I am staying on for a year as a junior attending and will then look for a job either in academics or private practice.

What do you love most about your job?

I’m never bored, I feel like I’m actually helping people, and I love being in the operating room.   I am constantly challenged and always learning.

Outside of work, what other activities/organizations are you involved in and why?

Yoga, anything in the ocean, and surfing. These activities all keep me centered and relaxed. You can take the girl off the island, but never the island out of the girl!

Do you still keep in touch with your St. John’s School friends?

Absolutely. While we are all scattered across the globe, these friends are my closest and most trusted friends.

How has attending St. John’s prepared you for success in college and in the workplace?

The St. John’s IB curriculum was very demanding and challenging, and taught me early on the importance of prioritizing, multi-tasking, and focusing.  At Stanford University, I was more than prepared for my freshman year classes. In medical school and beyond, St. John’s prepared me to think critically, as well as balance all responsibilities. As an athlete and student at St. John’s, I developed the skills I needed to balance my obligations.

What experiences from High School are the most memorable?

The 1998 Girls Volleyball championship:)

Anything else you would like to add?

To anyone interested or even thinking about going into medicine, it’s a tough rewarding journey that requires a ton of sacrifice. I love what I do, and it makes it all worth it.  Whatever you choose, stay passionate, focused, and balanced.

Leave a Reply

