Ravi Nagi – Class of 1994

This month we catch up with Ravi Nagi, a St. John’s ‘lifer’ who has many fond memories of his time here since Pre-K. After high school, Ravi went on to earn a history degree and become a managing partner at his law firm, BoltNagi PC. 

What year did you graduate from St. John’s School?

1994

What did you do in the year following HS Graduation?

I attended Tufts University and graduated in 1998 with a History Degree

Can you tell us about the career path you chose after college?

I went straight to law school after Tufts and attended Santa Clara University. 

What do you love most about your current job?

I’ve had two full-time jobs my whole life: the first was out of law school as the Head of the Housing Unit for the Legal Aid Society of Hawaii; the second is at my current position as a Partner and Asst. Managing Attorney at my law firm, BoltNagi PC,  in the US Virgin Islands. What I love about being a lawyer is the ability to help people through their crises. No one ever comes to me when things have gone right. I am only called in when the proverbial you know what has hit the fan. 

Outside of work, what other activities/organizations are you involved in and why?

I am on the Board of the IB School my two sons attend in St. Thomas, USVI and I only now appreciate what a challenge it is to run an elite private school on a small island. In the little spare time I do have I travel and try and get into the ocean as much as possible…..and I still play basketball on the regular with the young bloods. 

Do you still keep in touch with your St. John’s School friends?

Absolutely. I started St. John’s in Pre-K, so I can’t imagine life without my Guam familia. While Facebook makes it easier, we always used to email photos and messages in the late 90s and would meet up if we were all in the same city. If I went through my iPhone right now I would have at least 40+ SJS alumni phone numbers.  

What experiences from St. John’s are the most memorable?

 There are way too many. I would say the 1989 Jr. High Basketball Championship where we went undefeated and the Far East bball tournaments in South Korea. Our Japanese class trip to Kyoto, Osaka, and Tokyo in 1993. 4 Academic Challenge Bowl Championships in a row. Winning the Geography Bee in 8th grade was pretty cool and going to DC for the Nationals. But I think everyone from ’94 remembers our class camping trip to Tarague Beach in 7th grade. I still tell stories from that camping trip. 

Anything else you would like to add?

St. John’s was an amazing place to not only go to school, but to grow up at and it was great going back last month after 15 years away. It still feels like home. FullSizeRender (8)

Know anyone that should be featured here? We’d love to hear from you. Let us know by filling out the information below!

.

 

Leave a Reply

