Bianca (Cushing) Kamai, Class of 1998

Welcome Home Bianca!

img_0051_0 (1)

This month we catch up with Bianca (Cushing) Kamai , a 1998 St. John’s graduate who went on to complete her undergraduate degree in psychology at Seattle University and has recently returned home with her family.

Can you tell us about the career path you chose after college?

Marketing. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the professional experiences I’ve gained over the years. While in Seattle, I worked for a financial firm as their marketing manager, engaging and maintaining partnerships affiliated with real estate and lending industries. After relocating to SoCal, I was fortunate to run with a green tech startup for a utility-scale solar manufacturer of HCPV. Later, I joined an L.A. based marketing firm and was able to grow my body of work there through clients like NV Energy.

Outside of work, what other activities/organizations are you involved in?

We just moved back on island but while in California, I coached track for our sons’ club track team. The best part about that was being able to see a child rely on their own determination to get them through tough events. Track is unique to other youth sports because there is no one there to carry you to the finish line but yourself. I also spent much of my time volunteering at school in the classroom, events and fundraisers. On the weekends after the meets or games, it’s family time. Chilling at the beach or pool, heading to the park or on a hike and road tripping were my favorite times. When it’s just me, which is rare, I love going on scenic runs with my favorite playlist.

What do you enjoy most about your current career position?

I love that in a business setting, marketing is the bridge that connects an audience to a product or service. It allows for ultimate creativity and human connection and takes messaging from the page to the heart.

How did you become interested in your field of study or work?

It was a natural progression. I was always fascinated with how the mind works and what fuels behavior…what drives people to do what they do. Marketing is psychology in the realm of commerce. The goal is to connect with your audience and in order to do that, there’s a constant pursuit of understanding what makes people tick.

How has attending St. John’s prepared you for success in college and in the workplace?

St. John’s provided a unique environment that although being safe and nurturing, challenged me academically, encouraged me to be a curious creature of life and instilled strong study and work habits. The culture here made a strong impact on me. Everyone is always trying to put forth their best effort to achieve excellence. Not every school has that culture. When I was a student here, I noticed all of my friends were always going the extra mile, whether it was academically, creatively or athletically. I was always inspired to put forth my best effort or I’d feel like I was cheating myself. In college and also through life, those habits carried with me.

Do you still keep in touch with your St. John’s School friends?

Absolutely! I love that no matter where we are in the world and whatever lives we may lead, we always feel connected to one another and pick up where we last left off…like family. Of course, Facebook makes it easier these days to keep in touch. Some of my very best friends today are friends I made at St. John’s.

What experiences from St. John’s are the most memorable?

There are so many. To name a few, Environmental Science field trips were some of my most favorite times like when we did the beach topography mapping of Tumon Bay, our trip on the Atlantis, boonie stomping near the mangroves to study the habitat, off-campus lunches and beach BBQs. I always loved my morning routine with Ali. We would carpool to Jungle Java and get our chocolate chip muffins and coffee in the mornings before school. Looking back, I think about how blessed I was to have such amazing teachers. It’s an even bigger blessing that they are still here and my boys will be able to have them too.

What would you say to a prospective family who is considering St. John’s School?

Your child will thank you. They will be academically challenged and creatively inspired. They will be in a place where dreams are not just dreams, but rather become tangible goals. St. John’s will give your child the tools to succeed and the environment to thrive. Your child will know that nothing is out of reach and whatever they set out to do, can be accomplished. Trust me, they will thank you.

Know anyone that should be featured here? We’d love to hear from you. Let us know by filling out the information below!

. 

Leave a Reply

