All Ten St. John’s School Semifinalists Named National Merit Finalists

All ten St. John’s School semifinalists have advanced to finalist standing in the 2023 National Merit Scholarship Program. The ten high school seniors are Elizabeth Chen, Elizabeth Chua, Jin Chung, Miwa Gudmundsen, Seungho (Sunny) Kang, John Zachary Robato, Siwen (Lulu) Shao, Mark Wang, Justine Xu, and Kasey Xu.

They were among the pool of 1.5 million juniors that entered the 2023 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2021 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which served as an initial screen of program entrants.

Among the 16,000 semifinalists who were selected in September 2022, 15,000 students advanced to the finalist level of the competition. From that group, approximately 7,250 of these talented high school seniors will earn a National Merit Scholarship award this spring.

Pictured from left to right –Ms. Patricia Bennett, Head of School, Seungho (Sunny) Kang, Jin Chung, Siwen (Lulu) Shao, Elizabeth Chua, Elizabeth Chen, Kasey Xu, Miwa Gudmundsen, Justine Xu, Mark Wang, John Zachary Robato

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s