St. John’s Honor Societies Induct New Members

St. John’s middle and upper school students were inducted into the National Junior Honor Society (NJHS), National Honor Society (NHS), and Tri-M Music Honor Society last Thursday, March 16 in the Dale J. Jenkins Gymnasium. The basis of membership for the honor societies includes having a high scholastic average as well as citizenship, leadership, character, and service. Additional to the five qualities, inductees of the Tri-M Music Honor Society must be active members in a school-sponsored musical ensemble.

These societies aim to encourage others to aspire to scholarly habits, develop qualities of leadership, engage in worthy service, lead in those things which shall advance the welfare of our school and community, and gain qualities of character.

St. John’s School parent and entrepreneur, Mr. Mark Santos, was the evening’s guest speaker. In his speech, he shared his personal experiences and encouraged members to continue to use their talents and qualities of scholarship, character, and leadership to serve the community.

After the oath-taking, inductees were called forth to be congratulated by school administrators, Ms. Patricia Bennett, Head of School, Ms. Michelle Untalan, Assistant Head of School for Lower School, Mr. Bob Kelley, Assistant Head of School for Middle and Upper School, along with Mr. Ivan Pineda, Upper School Teacher, and Mr. Mark Santos. After being congratulated, the students received their pins and certificates and signed their names on the logbook.

Congratulations to our new NHS, NJHS, and Tri-M members!

NJHS Inductees:

Olivia Conroy, Bea Mariano, Akeyla Tolentino, Cecilia Joo, Clara Kim, Isabella Tai, Elsa Paulino

Megumi Taira, Lai Ling Wong, Kavika Angoco, Bella Huang, Dexter Huynh, Joy Kim, Carmel Mariano, Aeris Park, Isabella Rustick, Aaron Song

NHS Inductees:

Ana-Lourdes Cook, Arabella Gayle, Mia Lee, William (Billy) Mann, Riley Miller, Ayana Nakagawa    Vinh Nguyen, Rina Olsen, Ava Ouhadi, Sydney Packbier, Rehana Sachdev, Taisei Tagami, Nina Taitano, Jada Ada-Vibar, Rein Benitez, Skye Concepcion, Maeva Conroy, HyunJin Kim, Seohee Min, Michelle Puangco, Emily Sauget, Brandon Su, Taiyo Tagami

Tri-M Music Honor Society Inductees:

Brandon Su, Mark Domingo, Noey Lee, Jiyun Lee, Raylene DeBendicitis, Vivian Wen, Sean Lee

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s